Scientific American, Sexism, and a Quick Update

scientific-american-logo

Okay, so I know the blog has been quiet for a week, but I wanted you all to know why. (Breaking the 4th wall – I’ll try to make up for the shortcomings with a few extra posts over the coming week.)

So over the summer I was an intern at Scientific American magazine, and if you follow any science journalism, you’ve heard about the controversy surrounding their temporary removal of a blog post and the somewhat unrelated resignation of their legendary Blogs Editor Bora Zivkovic. Two pretty bad events that were handled very appropriately by the Scientific American staff.

On the other hand, I’m pretty upset about how the internet is handling it. There’s a lot of rhetoric, insults and general misunderstanding about the whole thing, so I blogged super hard about it for my Health and Science Reporting class. Please give this piece a read and share it. I highlight and address the parties responsible for spreading some damaging (and illogical) perspectives.

I know the work is only a logical drop in a rhetoric ocean, but it needed to be said. Here’s to hoping our nation’s most esteemed science magazine earns back some of it’s much-deserved respect.

On another note, this Wednesday at 7 p.m. in Martin Hall I’ll be speaking on a panel about finding, nailing and succeeding at high-level media internships. You should come and hang out, it’s gonna be a great time.

Also this Saturday I’ll be speaking at the School of Journalism’s Open House from 1 to 3 p.m. You should also come to that and learn more about the School of Journalism, especially if you’re a prospective student.

Other than that, look forward to posts this week about magazine branding and the New Vocabulary of Magazines. Next week I’m trying to get the coolest Q&A ever with a high-level magazine design director – it’s a secret who it is!

 

Leave a Reply

